‘Antifa’ Nov 4 2017

Lets not be silly

Another afternoon spent shaking my head at the chatter about the pending protests on Nov 4 across the nation.  If you are considering attending a major city in support of this anti American group please re-think your decision making process.  Antifa has now been officially labeled a Domestic Terrorist group by the FBI and the Dept. of Homeland Security.

When will the untested and unproven youth of today spend a little time researching their own information before declaring that they plan to over throw the government and all those that stand in their way.  I wonder in which direction their way is? What are the plans? I don’t consider myself quite over the hill yet, I’m still in my 30’s even if only just hanging in there.  I have seen much of the world as a traveler and as a soldier. I have seen real poverty and real heart ache.  The Wi-Fi going down in Starbucks or you losing some points on your world of war craft game does not constitute struggle.

The powers that be, not the white house; the real power players behind the scenes that actually run this Country are rubbing their hands together with excitement as they watch America continue to fight each other.  When are we going to wake up and unite as one?  Something they just don’t want to see happen.

President Trump is not the problem with this Country.  It is the self obsessed, over privileged youth who thing the Country owes them something just for being alive and staying in school.  It doesn’t work that way guys.  Go out there and become a decent member of your community.  Stop staying in college until your 40’s, get out there and give back a little.

I am in a rush this afternoon and need to finish and I feel my writing is a little fragmented today.  Writing still allows me a good and therapeutic answer to rising PTSD when I am feeling triggered. And I am feeling a little triggered which is sad since I am home now. I am not in a combat zone, but I feel one is around the corner.

If the ‘Antifa’ supporters and those with a similar cause decide they want to take the fight to the people, I ask that you reconsider. This is a fight you will not win. Put your chi green tea down for 2 minutes and think about it.  I don’t want to see violence in our towns and cities but if you start it, there are Patriots who will finish it.  I live in a city that I feel may be subjected to a violent Nov 4 and I pray I am wrong.  Do not throw away your life so early, do some of your own reading and your own research and understand that waving sticks and stomping your feet is not going to win this one.

Your freedom is not written by a politician with ink, it is written and provided by the veterans who don’t know you, but serve you and protect you.  Honor that and protest with peace and open ears and hearts.

I am my brothers keeper!

Author: Michael Owen

I'm from England and moved to the US in my mid 20's. I served in the US Army for 8 years and deployed over seas 3 times between 2006 and 2013. I'm now 39 and am married to a wonderful, beautiful woman from Massachusetts. She has been my rock during some very dark personal struggles with my combat PTSD and continues to support me daily! We recently relocated to Texas with our pup! I work for the federal government and am a die hard Manchester United fan!

2 thoughts on “‘Antifa’ Nov 4 2017”

Leave a comment